My New Vocabulary

Over the past few weeks, I have been doing a great deal of reflection on how our work around Self-Reg is providing me with a new vocabulary that enhances the work I do. While working with students, it certainly shapes my approach in problem solving but being able to give students the words to sometimes validate their emotions is empowering. In age appropriate and developmentally appropriate ways, I can sit alongside our students and discuss their stressors and help them to recognize potential sources of their challenges. With staff, it has really helped guide many of our conversations. We’ve all experienced a time when a student’s behaviour has gotten the better of us or has generated personal frustration. Being able to shift from what begins with educators asking me “What are you going to do about this student?” expecting an office based solution, to a collaborative conversation around “Let’s consider where this student may be experiencing stress right now?” This approach takes away blame, provides deeper understanding to everyone involved and guides our next steps in a more purposefully and intentional manner. Finally, with the parent/guardian community, this new vocabulary only strengthens their understanding of how we as educators work to support kids. Rather than parents hearing negative comments about behaviour which can easily be internalized (parent guilt gets the best of us!), they hear us exploring the five domains as a means to help and support. Parents experience us taking the time to know their children better, appreciate our recognition that there is a difference between misbehaviour and stress behaviour, and see us explore longer term solutions. I look forward to seeing how my further learning around Self-Reg continues to deepen my professional language.

One thought on “My New Vocabulary

  • February 6, 2019 at 9:12 pm
    Permalink

    I agree, Erinn! I feel like some of the things we have been learning are things that I have always felt. However, now I have the language to explain and justify my actions. I also feel like I can help others (mainly the students!) understand what is going on and how we can maybe solve a problem.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar